top of page

We Are Moving!

It is both with excitement and grief held with joy that I can announce that we are moving away from Greeley, our home of 6 years, to a new adventure in Kremmling, Colorado.


In the middle of the Spring semester, Sam began putting applications out for art teacher positions in various schools in the area. We had been talking about potential options--whether we wanted to try to stay here in Greeley, or apply elsewhere, such as the ever-growing Colorado Springs. In the midst of all our speculating about what the Fall would look like for us, my mother-in-law let us know about a high-school art teacher position that opened up in a tiny mountain town close to where Sam grew up.

Because of the connections the Miller's have up in that area--especially in regards to education, I knew from the get-go that Sam would have a good chance at getting the job. We had several discussions about it. Initially my heart was still wanting to stay in Greeley--or go to a place that I believed would have more opportunities for growth for us (Co. Springs). But as we talked more about it, I realized that God can cause us to grow anywhere. We decided to just apply, and see what happened. If we were accepted, then we could discuss what we wanted to do with that, and see where the Lord led us.


This decision happened quickly and suddenly. I am still catching up to the reality that we are actually moving again. I can still remember when Sam called to tell me that he was offered the position and how nervous and excited he was about it all. We discussed, we prayed, we weighed pros and cons, and eventually we decided that this new adventure is where we need to be.


With this decision I feel like I am holding a rainbow in my hands. In one hand is the sun--the light, and joy, and excitement of new beginnings, new adventures, more camping trips, being closer to Sam's family--my beautiful nieces, getting to go to my sister-in-law's coffee shop (Simple Coffee Co.) whenever we want, mountain summers, hiking in the woods, and seeing what we can learn from this new experience. In the other hand is the rain--missing Greeley, my friends, our church community, our favorite coffee shops, shopping at Esh's, and being closer to Nebraska for our quick weekend visits to and from my parents. We have made this city in the front range our home. I know we can do it again when we move, but it doesn't mean my heart will not grieve leaving so much that is beloved and familiar behind.


Sam will officially start work in early August; so we will try to move up to Kremmling by the end of July. Already we are seeing the ways that God has been providing for us by giving us options for an affordable apartment and for all our other needs. Sam is excited for smaller-scale classes, having more control over what he gets to teach, and getting 3-day weekends at the Kremmling school. I do not have a job lined up yet, but I'm sure God will provide for that at the proper time as well.


I often get overwhelmed with everything that needs to happen in less than a few months time. The packing-hauling-moving process can be stressful, and I am ready for that part of the journey to be OVER, but I am trying not to freak out before it all begins. I am also thinking a lot about what I want to experience before we leave Greeley. I hope that those experiences feel less like trying to cram in as much as possible before our plunge into the unknown, and more like special moments and memories we get to savor. Luckily, though it is a good distance to drive, we are still within the same state if we ever want to visit the precious friends and places that we have called our own for the last 6 years.


Not sure what crazy adventures God wants to take us on, but we are open to the road ahead.


“The Road goes ever on and on Down from the door where it began. Now far ahead the Road has gone, And I must follow, if I can, Pursuing it with eager feet, Until it joins some larger way Where many paths and errands meet. And whither then? I cannot say”

--J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring


-RNM





184 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page