top of page
  • Writer's picturermillerme

My Huge Announcement

Okay... so I got some people excited when I mentioned in my last post that I had something HUGE coming up that I wanted to share soon. Sorry to dash anyone's hopes, but it is not a pregnancy announcement. ;) It does, however, have a lot to do with pregnancy and birth, and is an opportunity that I am so thrilled to have.

I am going to become a doula.

I have always had a soft spot for mommas and babies and when I discovered that I could train and become certified in less than a year, I was interested in looking more into this as a profession. Guys, the more I learn and explore becoming a doula, the more I get excited and the more I want to do it. As of now, I am officially signed up to begin my training on September 12th.

Some of you may be wondering: What the heck is a doula? Although doulas have been present throughout history, many people still are unfamiliar with all that they do. The word doula means "female servant" in Greek, and they are usually women who assist and encourage mothers and families as they go through labor and/or the postpartum period. Doulas are different from midwives in that they don't do anything with the medical side of pregnancy and birth. Doulas are often involved in teaching birth and postpartum classes; but they do not give out medical advice, prescribe medication, or give physical exams. Instead, doulas are available for parental education of what labor/postpartum will look like, breathing and labor positions, moral support for both parents, and making sure that the mother can get as close to achieving her dream birth as possible. Doulas are advocates for a safe birthing space. They can bring a sense of calm to a high-anxiety situation--being there to encourage the mother as she transitions through the different phases of birth.

It is statistically shown that having a doula present GREATLY reduces the amount of interventions a practitioner will take during birth. Doulas are also present during the entire birth process verses a hospital staff that will come and go if the labor process is taking longer than the staff is on shift. Having that sense of stability with someone there to continuously care for the parents can be very reassuring and help them feel more at ease.

I could go on and on about why I love doulas and how much they contribute to a successful birth. I am so excited to join in this adventure head on!

Currently, I am in an extensive gathering resources and researching phase. Even though my course I will be taking is fairly short (8 weeks), I know that there is still SO much to learn and a lot of experience I need to get under my belt. Though the magnitude of all there is to learn can be daunting, I am eager to get started. I want to do this right and grow as much as I can so I can exude confidence and a sense of calm, professional care into my work.

The course I am taking is full-spectrum--which means they will train me to do work with birth, postpartum, and bereavement services for those cases that end in pregnancy or infant loss. This course is lead by a faith-based, BIPOC community called Sisters in Loss (They also have a podcast by the same name).

I am planning on keeping y'all updated as I work toward this amazing goal of mine. This seriously seems like it could be my dream job. I'm hoping to develop a deeper set of skills and grow in my knowledge surrounding birth and postpartum that I can use for the future.

So excited for what's in store!

-RNM




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page